The Valparaiso University Alumni Association promotes and supports the University’s mission and keeps alumni forever connected to Valparaiso University and each other. Since 1934, the VUAA has served as the bridge between alumni and Valpo through a variety of programs and services, both on campus and across the country.

If you are an alumna or alumnus of Valparaiso University, welcome! All graduates or former students who have completed at least one semester at Valpo are automatically members, free of charge. Honorary alumni membership is presented to anyone who receives an honorary degree from the University and to individuals selected by the VUAA Board of Directors.

In addition to selecting award recipients, the VUAA welcomes first-year students to Valpo, celebrates graduation with seniors, facilitates services for alumni (including the Valpo license plates for Indiana drivers), and designs Homecoming Weekend, welcoming alumni back to campus for a full slate of activities, events, and reunions. To become more active in the VUAA, click “VUAA Board” above to contact a board member, or fill out our Alumni Involvement Form to learn about volunteer opportunities.


The VUAA selects recipients for awards to alumni, faculty, and students who have distinguished themselves and made Valpo proud. The VUAA Board encourages you to nominate a candidate. Nominations for 2017 awards are now closed; 2018 nominations will be open December 2017 through February 15, 2018. At that time, online nomination forms will be available.
Student Alumni Association members are united in their love for Valpo and their commitment to making their alma mater a place rich in pride, spirit, and tradition long before graduation day.
The VUAA Board of Directors meets twice a year and manages the programs, events, and activities of the association. The VUAA Board of Directors maintains a balance in its membership that reflects the demographic and geographic characteristics of the entire alumni population.

VUAA board members serve three-year terms and represent various class years, geographic areas, and each of the colleges of the university. In recruiting new members to the board, a nominating committee seeks input from all alumni and actively recruits new members annually. If you are interested in a position on the board, or would like to recommend someone, please contact us at alumni@valpo.edu.

Current officers and members of the board are:
President
Lisa Boehm ’98 Rice
Libertyville, Ill.
lisa.boehm@gmail.com

First Vice President

Michael Nevergall ’05
Cedar Park, Texas
mike.nevergall@gmail.com

Second Vice President
Lindsie Jung Fransen ’05
Orland Park, Ill.
lindsiefransen@yahoo.com

Secretary
Brandon Tomlinson ’08
Fairfax, Iowa
btomlins@gmail.com

Treasurer

Brent Park ’07
San Antonio, Texas
brent.park@gmail.com

Immediate Past President

Lorraine Gaunt ’78 Dorough
McDonough, Ga.
lorraine.dorough@valpo.edu

Directors
Natalie Strachan Alexander ’05
League City, Texas
nstrachan10@yahoo.com

Chelsey Bradford ’16
Hammond, Ind.
chelsey.bradford@valpo.edu

Adam Dellay ’05
Evansville, Ind.
adamdellay2000@yahoo.com

Benjamin "Ben" Dickman ’00
Tamarac, Fla.
bdickmann@gmail.com

Thomas Ertel ’70
Wauwatosa, Wis.
tom.ertel@sbcglobal.net

Jeffrey Gordon ’94, ’98 L
Raleigh, N.C.
jigordon@gmail.com

Danielle Carter ’06 Iddins
Valparaiso, Ind.

Martha Barr Leaf ’85
McPherson, Kan.
mleaf@wcsks.com

Sara Lister ’99
Albuquerque, N.M.
saralister@yahoo.com

Gideon Litherland ’12
Chicago, Ill.
gideon.litherland@valpo.edu

Scott Paukner ’00
Muskego, Wis.
spaukner@sbcglobal.net

Dr. Richard Schiming ’69
Easton, Md.
richard.schiming@mnsu.edu

Sara Hagemann ’76 Schlichting
Springfield, Ill.
schlichts@comcast.net

Mark Seeber ’02
Lafayette, Colo.
mark.seeber@valpo.edu

Lynn Schroeder ’65 Smith
Carbondale, Ill.
lynncsmith42@gmail.com

Heidi Brockmann Sturmfels ’87
Chaska, Minn.
heidi.sturmfels@valpo.edu

Cathy Hyvonen ’72 Tribble
Clifton Park, N.Y.
pctribble@msn.com

Jill Van Dalen ’00
Berkeley, Calif.
jill.vandalen@valpo.edu

Pierre Zado ’08, ’09L
San Francisco, Calif.

Liberty Zieghan ’07
Chicago, Ill.

Student Alumni Association Representative
Erin Staal
erin.staal@valpo.edu